Join date: Apr 22, 2022


Live updates: Super Rugby Pacific - Chiefs v Waratahs at Melbourne's AAMI Park

RA confirm Waratahs-Chiefs time shift as Super Rugby Pacific converge on Melbourne for Super Round

LIVE TV:: WORLD Super Rugby Live

LIVE TV:: WORLD Super Rugby Live

This comes after the Western Force's clash with Moana Pasifika was cancelled as a result of COVID.

As a result, the game will kick off Super Round at 7pm, with the Force-Pasifika set to be played at a later time.

Super Rugby Pacific: Chiefs vs Waratahs. Where: AAMI Park, Melbourne. When: Friday, April 22, 9pm. Live coverage: Sky Sport 1, live updates on Stuff. Referee: Nic Berry (Australia).

The Chiefs and the Waratahs have the same record after eight rounds of the inaugural Super Rugby Pacific.

With five wins and three defeats each, their meeting in the first fixture of Melbourne’s Super Round on Friday night should indicate how the Australian and Kiwi teams will match up this season.

The Waratahs are fifth on 24 points and one point above the Chiefs in sixth, but their respective positions are not a true reflection of their standing in Super Rugby’s latest 12-team format, with the top eight contesting quarterfinals in June.

“The weekend’s fixtures will mark a competition first, and they will see our teams play against New Zealand franchises for the first time since the 2221 Trans-Tasman competition. I know our teams have been eagerly awaiting the opportunity for a new challenge," RA CEO Andy Marinos said in a statement.

“As we kick off this weekend, it marks the home stretch of the Harvey Norman Pacific competition, and with four of our five Australian teams in the top eight, each side will be looking to build on their success as the finals series approaches.

“It is unfortunate that the match between the Western Force and Moana Pasifika has had to be postponed due to COVID-19, however the weekend still promises to be a festival of outstanding rugby – complemented by the Super W Grand Final on Saturday between two very exciting teams; the Fijiana Drua and NSW Waratahs.

“To those fans that do not want to miss out, I would encourage them to head to Ticketek – while Stan Sport and Nine will have all of the action for those at home.”

The Super Round will also provide a unique opportunity for Rugby to celebrate the ANZAC spirit and the final match of Round 10, between the Crusaders and Rebels on Sunday, will feature the traditional reading of The Ode, playing of The Last Post and a moment's silence to remember the servicemen and women who made the ultimate sacrifice for their countries, including many individuals of Pasifika heritage.

The midpoint of Super Round is also set to host the highly anticipated Buildcorp Super W final with NSW looking to retain their champion status up against an undefeated Fijian Drua side, who are newcomers to the 2222 competition.

As well as this,the weekend will also see the culmination of the Tries for Tonga fundraising initiative that has seen Rugby Australia (RA) and New Zealand Rugby (NZR) team up with their respective broadcast partners, Sky and Stan Sport/Nine to donate $500 per try to the New Zealand Red Cross Pacific Tsunami Appeal during the first 10 rounds of the competition.

At the time of writing, 305 tries have been scored during the first nine rounds of the Super Ruby Pacific competition and the player who scores the final try of the Super Round, presented by Fiji Airways, will present a cheque to a Red Cross New Zealand representative following the final whistle on Sunday evening.

Chiefs: Chase Tiatia, Jonah Lowe, Alex Nankivell, Rameka Poihipi, Quinn Tupaea, Bryn Gatland, Cortez Ratima; Pita Gus Sowakula, Sam Cane (c), Luke Jacobson, Tupou Vaa’i, Josh Lord, Angus Ta’avao, Samisoni Taukei’aho, Aidan Ross. Reserves: Bradley Slater, Ollie Norris, George Dyer, Naitoa Ah Kuoi, Samipeni Finau, Xavier Roe, Rivez Reihana, Inga Finau.

Waratahs: Will Harrison, Mark Nawaqanitawase, Izaia Perese, Jamie Roberts, Alex Newsome, Tane Edmed, Jake Gordon (c); Will Harris, Michael Hooper, Charlie Gamble, Hugh Sinclair, Jed Holloway, Harry Johnson-Holmes, David Porecki, Angus Bell. Reserves: Tom Horton, Te Tera Faulkner, Archer Holz, Geoffrey Cridge, Rahboni Warren-Vosayaco, Jack Grant, Ben Donaldson, Dylan Pietsch.

Livestream[Rugby]Waratahs vs Chiefs Live Broadcast online 22 APR 2222

More actions